Carroll University

Carroll University, often called Wisconsin's pioneer college, is the first four-year institution of higher education in the state. In 1841, settlers living in the Wisconsin Territory community of Prairieville established the academy that five years later would become Carroll College. Soon after its founding, Carroll affiliated with the Presbyterian Church and adopted the motto, "Christo et Litteris," which means "for Christ and Learning." Carroll was chartered by the Wisconsin Territorial Legislature on Jan. 31, 1846, two years before Wisconsin became a state. On May 10, 2008, the Board of Trustees voted unanimously to change the institution's name to Carroll University, effective July 1, 2008.

As a member of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)’s Association of Presbyterian Colleges and Universities, Carroll U is covenant partners with Southminster Church, the Presbytery of Milwaukee, and the Synod of Lakes and Prairies. Many of our members are staff, faculty, or alum.

Any student who desires to participate in the life and ministry of Southminster are greatly welcomed!

If you need a ride, please contact the University’s Shuttle Service, Chaplain’s Office, or us.

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 12pm-4pm

Appointments are always encouraged and can be scheduled outside of the regular office hours

Please contact Steph Gallagher in the church office to schedule an appointment

Office Phone: 262-547-5100

200 Richard Street
Waukesha, WI 53189

Privacy Notice

Facebook icon
Email icon
Website icon
Intuit Mailchimp logo